A selection of five book covers.


Cover of Septology, by Jon Fosse.Awarded to 120 Nobel Laureates since 1901.  The Swedish Academy sends out invitations to experts in the field of literature for nominations, then selects the Laureate based on their entire body of work. The 2023 Laureate is Jon Fosse.

Find books by Jon Fosse in our catalogue.

Visit the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Cover of Prophet Song, by Paul Lynch.Started in 1969, the award is given to the book the judges believe to be the year’s greatest work of English-language fiction published in the UK or Island.  The book must speak to contemporary readers, and be of sufficient quality to be considered great literature in the future. The 2023 Winner was Prophet Song by Paul Lynch.

Find Prophet Song in our catalogue.

Visit the Booker Prize.

Cover of Kairos, by Jenny Erpenbeck.Started in 2015, the award is given to the book the judges believe to be the greatest work of international fiction to be translated into English and be published in the UK or Ireland.  It aims to promote excellent fiction from around the world to English-speaking readers. The 2024 Winner is Kairos by Jenny Erpenbeck.

Visit the International Booker Prize.


Cover of Immaculate, by Anna McGahan.Starting in 1980, the Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award is one of Australia’s most prestigious awards for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five.  The 2023 Winner is Immaculate, by Anna McGahan.

Find Immaculate in our catalogue.

Visit The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award.

Cover of The Voice to Parliament Handbook, by Thomas Mayo and Kerry O'Brien.Starting in 2003, the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) is an annual celebration that celebrates the connection between Australian readers and the ‘book makers’ who unite to create the must-read books of the year.  Currently, the Awards include 20 categories. The 2024 Winner for Book of the Year was The Voice to Parliament Handbook, by Thomas Mayo and Kerry O’Brien.

Find The Voice to Parliament in our catalogue.

Visit the Australian Book Industry Awards.

Starting in 1996, The Ned Kelly Awards are one of Australia’s oldest and most prestigious prizes honouring our crime fiction and true crime writing.  The awards include four categories. The 2023 Winners:Cover of Exiles, by Jane Harper.

Visit the Ned Kelly Awards.

Cover of Praiseworthy, by Alexis Wright.Started in 2012, the Stella Prize is a major literary award that celebrates Australian women’s writing and an organisation that champions cultural change. The 2024 Winner is Praiseworthy, by Alexis Wright.

Find Praiseworthy in our catalogue.

Visit The Stella Prize.

Beginning in 2008, these awards play an important role in celebrating the outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. At present, there are six categories awarded. The 2023 Winners are:

Visit the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Cover of Killing for Country, by David Marr.The Indie Book Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers. They currently award seven different categories. The 2024 Winner was Killing for Country: A Family Story, by David Marr.

Find Killing for Country in our catalogue.

Visit the Indie Book Awards.

Cover of Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens, by Shankari Chandran.The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. Established in 1957 through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases. The 2023 Winner is Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens, by Shankari Chandran.

Find Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens in our catalogue.

Visit the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Western Australian

Cover of Banjawarn, by Josh Kemp.Starting in 1982, the Premier’s Book Awards are an important and integral part of the State’s cultural activity which honours Western Australian and Australian writing. There are currently five different categories, including the new Daisy Utemorrah Award for an unpublished indigenous Junior or Young Adult Fiction. The 2024 Winners are:

Visit the Premier’s Book Awards.

The Writing WA website provides updates and links to a variety of book awards you may be interested in.

Visit Writing WA’s Awards.